Back to opportunities
Document4 of 5 opportunities in this document openPublication

College Prospectus

King Hintsa CollegeRef: TECHNICAL/N3/NQF

Official source

Source domain: khc.edu.za

Collected on 13 July 2026

Always confirm details on the official source before acting.

What this means

This document is a prospectus for King Hintsa TVET College. It describes the college’s vision, mission, values, quality commitment (including compliance with ISO 9001:2015), campus locations, and the difference between NCV and Report 191 (Nated) programmes. It also sets out programme durations, admission/entry requirements for Report 191 Engineering (N4–N6) and NCV, transfer and application requirements, campus-specific NCV/Report 191 offerings, and outlines short skills/learnerships, an entrepreneurship programme, and student health care services.

What this document offers

Read out of this document by Govermate's AI, in its own words. Each one quotes the line it came from — confirm on the official source before acting.

technical diploma programmeOngoing

Report 191 (Nated) Engineering Programme (N4–N6)

A credit-bearing engineering programme offered at NQF Levels 4 to 6, designed for learners who have completed N2 in engineering studies and have two years of relevant work experience. It leads to a National N Diploma after completing N6 and fulfilling practical experience requirements.

Who it is for
learners with N2 in engineering studies, those with 24 months of relevant practical experience, and individuals seeking artisan certification
How to act on it
Submit application with proof of N2 certificate and two years of relevant work experience to the Campus Manager; meet minimum subject requirements in Mathematics and Physical Science.
Show the line this came from
A student who has achieved a N2 certificate in engineering studies, and who has proof of 2 years work experience the same field as the subjects on the N2 certificate, can apply to take trade test to qualify as an artisan.
student health serviceOngoing

Student Health Care Services

Comprehensive health services provided by a professional nurse, including screenings for blood pressure, weight, diabetes, cholesterol, pregnancy, and TB/STI/HIV. Minor ailments are also treated. Quarterly health activations are held with nearby clinics and HIGHRT HEALTH.

Who it is for
all enrolled students at King Hintsa TVET College
How to act on it
Visit the Health, Wellness and Development Centre at any campus; attend quarterly health activation events with HIGHRT HEALTH and local clinics.
Show the line this came from
Student health care: services rendered by a professional nurse; includes screenings (BP, weights, diabetes, cholesterol, pregnancy test, TB/STI/HIV) and minor ailments; quarterly 2-day activation with nearby clinics and HIGHRT HEALTH;
vocational qualification programmeOngoing

National Certificate Vocational (NCV) Programme

A full-time vocational programme consisting of three consecutive qualifications on NQF Levels 2, 3, and 4. Each level takes one academic year to complete and includes fundamental subjects (language, Life Orientation, Mathematical Literacy), compulsory vocational subjects, and an optional specialization subject. Upon completion, students may articulate to a Report 191 programme.

Who it is for
learners with a low academic background, out-of-school youth, adults seeking skills development
How to act on it
Apply through the college's application process at any campus; meet admission requirements including Grade 9 or equivalent for Level 2, and provide relevant documentation.
Show the line this came from
The NCV consists of three consecutive Qualifications on NQF Levels2,3 and 4. Each level is a full qualification and takes one academic year to complete when studying fulltime.
bridging education programmeOngoing

Pre-Vocational Learning (PLP) Bridging Programme

A bridging programme for applicants who do not meet the minimum entry requirements for NCV or Report 191 programmes. It helps learners improve their foundational skills before entering formal qualification programmes.

Who it is for
learners who do not meet minimum admission requirements for NCV or Report 191 programmes
How to act on it
Enrol in the Pre-Vocational Learning (PLP) programme at any campus to improve foundational skills before applying for formal programmes.
Show the line this came from
Bridging for those not meeting minimum requirements: Pre-Vocational Learning (PLP);
skills development learnershipClosing date not stated

Short Skills and Learnerships

Short-term, credit-bearing occupational programmes ranging from 1 to 4 years that are delivered at approved colleges and workplaces. These programmes lead to External Integrated Summative Assessment (EISA) and national certification.

Who it is for
individuals seeking short-term vocational training and employment readiness
How to act on it
Apply through the college’s admissions office at any campus; meet specific programme requirements and complete workplace training hours.
Closes
Closing date not stated in the source
Show the line this came from
PROGRAMMES OCCUPATIONAL QUALIFICATIONS Duration: Credit-bearing certificates that range from 1-4 years Admission Requirements: Entry Requirements vary depending on the qualification.

Facts

Places

Eastern Cape

Reference

TECHNICAL/N3/NQF

Parties

This document is a prospectus

Key Takeaways

  • Document type: King Hintsa TVET College prospectus
  • Quality commitment: continuous improvement and compliance with ISO 9001:2015
  • College merger: Centane Technical College, Teko Technical College, H.B. Tsengwa Technical College, and Idutywa Satellite (formerly Idutywa Community College)
  • Central Administration Office: 218 Mthatha Road, Butterworth (next to WSU, Butterworth campus)
  • Campuses: Centane, Msobomvu, Teko, Admin Centre (Mnquma Local Municipality); Dutywa and Willowvale (Mbashe Local Municipality); campuses ~60 km apart
  • NCV structure: 3 consecutive qualifications on NQF Levels 2, 3, and 4; each level takes 1 academic year full-time
  • NCV subjects: 3 fundamental subjects (language, Life Orientation, Mathematical Literacy), 3 compulsory vocational subjects, and 1 optional specialization subject
  • Report 191 (Nated) engineering: N4–N6; duration stated as 11 weeks per N-level; requires 24 months relevant practical for National N Diploma
  • Report 191 Engineering entry (N4–N6): Grade 12 technical/N3/NQF Level 4 vocational; Civil requires 40% Mathematics and Physical Science; Electrical requires 45%+ Mathematics and Physical Science
  • Bridging for those not meeting minimum requirements: Pre-Vocational Learning (PLP)
  • Appeals: lodged to the Campus Manager; only if admission process was flawed
  • Student selection: no discrimination for learners with special needs; equal opportunities
  • Campus programme examples: Teko NCV (Primary Agriculture, Civil Engineering and Building Construction, Electrical Infrastructure Construction, Engineering and Related Design); Msobomvu Report 191 (Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering); Dutywa/Wilowvale/Centane/Msobomvu NCV occupational programmes listed
  • Student health care: services rendered by a professional nurse; includes screenings (BP, weights, diabetes, cholesterol, pregnancy test, TB/STI/HIV) and minor ailments; quarterly 2-day activation with nearby clinics and HIGHRT HEALTH
  • King Hintsa TVET College
  • Centane Technical College
  • Teko Technical College
  • H.B. Tsengwa Technical College
  • Idutywa Satellite (formerly Idutywa Community College)
  • WSU (Butterworth campus)
  • Eastern Cape (South Eastern Region)
  • Walter Sisulu University (WSU) (referenced as WSU)
  • Mnquma Local Municipality
  • Mbashe Local Municipality
  • Wvo Local Municipality (spelled as 'Wvo' in text)
  • DHET
  • NSFAS
  • HIGHRT HEALTH
  • HIGHER HEALTH (as written in text)
  • HEAIDS (former name referenced for Health, Wellness and Development Centre)