Back to opportunities
DocumentNot applicable5 of 6 opportunities in this document openOther

Qualification Definitions

Official source

Source domain: falsebaycollege.co.za

Collected on 28 June 2026

Always confirm details on the official source before acting.

What this means

The document provides definitions and descriptions of various qualification types offered by False Bay TVET College, including pre-vocational learning, NC(V), NATED/Report 191 programs, higher certificates, and occupational programs. It details program durations, entry requirements, and progression pathways for each qualification category. The aim is to clarify the programs' structure and purpose to prospective students.

What this document offers

Read out of this document by Govermate's AI, in its own words. Each one quotes the line it came from — confirm on the official source before acting.

educational programmeOngoing

Pre-Vocational Learning Programme (PLP)

A foundational programme designed to prepare school leavers with Grade 9 who did not meet entry criteria for NC(V) Level 2 for further study at a TVET College. It serves as an entry point into vocational education.

Who it is for
school leavers with Grade 9 who did not meet entry criteria for NC(V) L2
How to act on it
Apply through the college's application process; no specific form or contact is stated in the text.
Show the line this came from
This foundational programme prepares students for further study at a TVET College. Aimed at school leavers with Grade 9 who did not meet entry criteria for a specific course in NC(V) L2.
vocational qualificationOngoing

National Certificate Vocational (NC(V))

A vocational qualification that integrates broad knowledge and practical skills within specific industry fields. It offers learners a vocational alternative to academic Grade 10-12.

Who it is for
learners seeking a vocational alternative to academic Grade 10-12
How to act on it
Apply through the college's application process; no specific form or contact is stated in the text.
Show the line this came from
NC(V) programmes integrate a broad range of knowledge and practical skills within specific industry fields. The National Certificate (Vocational) offers learners a vocational alternative to an academic Grade 10-12.
business studies qualification programmeOngoing

NATED/Report 191: Business Studies

A 18-month theoretical programme consisting of N4, N5, and N6 certificates in business studies. Upon completion of N6, students must provide proof of 18 months’ work experience in the relevant industry to qualify for the National N Diploma.

Who it is for
students pursuing business studies at N4-N6 levels
How to act on it
Apply through the college's application process; no specific form or contact is stated in the text.
Show the line this came from
NATED/Report 191 programmes consist of 18 months' theoretical studies that comprises of N4, N5 and N6 certificates. After completing the N6 certificate students are required to provide proof (to the Department of Higher Education and Training) of 18 months' work experience in the relevant industry, in order to qualify for the National N Diploma is issued by the Department of Higher Education and Training if all requirements are met.
engineering qualification programmeOngoing

NATED/Report 191: Engineering Programmes

A 18-month theoretical programme comprising N4, N5, and N6 certificates in Mechanical, Civil, or Electrical Engineering. After completing N6, students must provide proof of 18 months’ work experience in the relevant industry to qualify for the National N Diploma.

Who it is for
students pursuing engineering studies at N4-N6 levels
How to act on it
Apply through the college's application process; no specific form or contact is stated in the text.
Show the line this came from
Engineering studies encompass a National Certificate N4-N6 in the chosen field of Engineering studies: Mechanical, Civil or Electrical. NATED/Report 191 programmes consist of 18 months' theoretical studies that comprises of N4, N5 and N6 certificates. After completing the N6 certificate students are required to provide proof (to the Department of Higher Education and Training) of 18 months' work experience in the relevant industry, in order to qualify for the National N Diploma is issued by the Department of Higher Education and Training if all requirements are met.
occupational training programmeClosing date not stated

Occupational Programmes

Programmes that focus on specific job roles and skills required in particular industries, enabling students to enter the workforce directly.

Who it is for
students seeking direct entry into the workforce
How to act on it
Apply through the college's application process; no specific form or contact is stated in the text.
Closes
Closing date not stated in the source
Show the line this came from
Consists of Engineering an
higher education qualificationOngoing

Higher Certificate Programmes

Vocational study programmes that are industry-orientated and skills application-based, preparing students for employment in specific occupational fields.

Who it is for
students seeking vocational higher education
How to act on it
Apply through the college's application process; no specific form or contact is stated in the text.
Show the line this came from
Higher Certificate study programmes are predominantly vocational. This means that the course material is industry-orientated and skills application-based.

Facts

Places

Northern Cape

Key Takeaways

  • False Bay TVET College
  • qualification types
  • pre-vocational learning
  • NC(V)
  • NATED/Report 191
  • higher certificates
  • occupational programs
  • program durations
  • entry requirements
  • articulation pathways