Eastern Cape Department of Education - Second Quarterly Performance Report 2017/18
Official source
Source domain: eceducation.gov.za
Collected on 17 June 2026
Always confirm details on the official source before acting.
What this means
What this document offers
Read out of this document by Govermate's AI, in its own words. Each one quotes the line it came from — confirm on the official source before acting.
277 Principal posts; 1 247 Deputy Principal and HOD posts and 4 484 Post Level 1 posts
The department advertised 277 principal posts, 1 247 deputy principal and HOD posts, and 4 484 Post Level 1 posts as part of preparation for 2018. The document does not provide an application method or closing date.
- Who it is for
- Education personnel seeking principal, deputy principal, HOD or Post Level 1 positions
- How to act on it
- Apply through the advertised posts; the document does not state where or how applications must be submitted.
- Closes
- Closing date not stated in the circular
Show the line this came from
In line with teacher provisioning, 277 Principal posts; 1 247 Deputy Principal and HOD posts and 4 484 Post Level 1 posts were advertised.
The 2018 Early Admissions campaign
The department made an early admissions campaign available for the 2018 school year, using a radio message, circular, admissions management plan, newspaper adverts, posters and pamphlets. The department also organised placement assistance for stranded learners.
- Who it is for
- Parents and learners seeking Grade 1 or Grade 8 placement
- How to act on it
- Use the campaign's Circular, Admissions Management Plan, local newspaper adverts, posters and pamphlets; learners needing placement could receive assistance organised by the department.
- Closes
- 29 August 2017
Show the line this came from
The 2018 Early Admissions campaign, which included the MEC’s radio message, a Circular, an Admissions Management Plan, local newspaper adverts, posters and pamphlets ran from 01 April to 29 August 2017.
Facts
Places
Buffalo City, Eastern Cape, Nelson Mandela Bay
Key Takeaways
- Document: Eastern Cape Department of Education - Second Quarterly Performance Report 2017/18
- Reporting quarter: 01 July – 30 September 2017 (summary appropriation statement also references 01 April 2017–September 2017)
- Accounting Officer overview signed by T KOJANA (Superintendent General)
- Early Admissions campaign ran 01 April to 29 August 2017
- Unplaced learners at end of quarter: 1 041 Grade 1 and 5 790 Grade 8
- Teacher provisioning posts advertised: 277 Principal, 1 247 Deputy Principal/HOD, 4 484 Post Level 1; appointments due by 30 November 2017
- Voted funds (main appropriation/adjusted/actual): 32,989,055; actual amount spent: 16,077,432; over/under shown as (343,689)
- Departmental receipts (current revenue): budgeted 72,746; quarter 2 cumulative actual 31,638; deviation from target 961
- Programme payments quarter 2 cumulative: total expenditure 16,911,632 vs budgeted 16,077,432 (over/under (343,689), -1.0% deviation)
- Programme 1 Administration purpose: overall management and support to the education system under PFMA and National Education Policy Act
- Eastern Cape Department of Education
- MEC for Education
- Provincial Department of Education
- Head of Education
- T KOJANA (Superintendent General)
- DPSA
- Public Finance Management Act
- National Education Policy Act
- LURITS
- EMIS
- School-Data Driven Districts (DDD) programme
- National School of Government (UFH)
- Wits University
- TVET Colleges
- Buffalo City Metro
- Chris Hani West
- OR Tambo Coastal
- Port Elizabeth
- East London
- Mthatha
Dates
Opening Date
1 January 2017