Back to opportunities
DocumentNot applicable1 of 2 opportunities in this document openCommittee question

[NW628] In the context of escalating cost-of-living pressures, rising food and fuel prices influenced by global market instability and increasing tax burdens on already struggling households, (a) what urgent

Parliament of South AfricaRef: ERENCE_NUMBER NW628

Official data source

Source domain: api.pmg.org.za

Collected on 17 June 2026

Always confirm details on the official source before acting.

What this means

This document is a written parliamentary question and answer regarding fiscal interventions by the National Treasury to shield low and middle-income South Africans from rising cost-of-living pressures. It outlines measures from the 2026 Budget and 2025 MTBPS, including inflation targeting, tax relief, a strong social wage, continued COVID-19 SRD grant with extended funding, and improved targeting of social grants to reduce fraud. It asserts that these measures support progressive realisation of socio-economic rights within resource constraints and denies evidence of austerity, noting continued capital investment funding.

What this document offers

Read out of this document by Govermate's AI, in its own words. Each one quotes the line it came from — confirm on the official source before acting.

social grant extensionOpen

COVID-19 social relief of distress grant extension (redesigned to support livelihoods, skills development and productive activity)

The COVID-19 social relief of distress grant continues in its current form and is extended with additional funding to support livelihoods, skills development and productive activity, paying R370 per beneficiary per month until 31 March 2027.

Who it is for
the most vulnerable beneficiaries of the COVID-19 social relief of distress grant
How to act on it
Beneficiaries receive the grant payment as extended by the budget (no application process is described in the document).
Closes
31 March 2027

The document's recorded date is 18 March 2026. Confirm on the official source.

Show the line this came from
The grant continues in its current form over the year ahead, with an additional R36.4 billion allocated to extend the payment at the current R370 per beneficiary per month until 31 March 2027.
social grant targeting improvementClosing date not stated

Improved targeting of social grants to combat fraud and corruption (biometric and income verification)

Government is improving how social grants are targeted to combat fraud and corruption and to protect legitimate grant recipients, using enhanced biometric and income verification, with expected savings of R3 billion over the next two years to be reallocated to policy priorities.

Who it is for
legitimate social grant recipients and the most vulnerable grant applicants/beneficiaries affected by social grant targeting
How to act on it
No specific application or registration steps are described; the document states that government will improve targeting through biometric and income verification.
Closes
Closing date not stated in the source

The document's recorded date is 18 March 2026. Confirm on the official source.

Show the line this came from
Government is improving the targeting of social grants to combat fraud and corruption, and to protect legitimate grant recipients. Government anticipates savings of R3 billion over the next two years, which will be reallocated to policy priorities, from improved targeting through enhanced biometric and income verification.

Facts

Reference

ERENCE_NUMBER NW628

Amounts

R 36 400 000 000, R 370

Key Takeaways

  • reference_number NW628
  • question_number 628
  • date of answer 2026-03-18
  • budget context 2026 Budget and 2025 MTBPS
  • measures: inflation targeting, tax relief for 2026
  • social wage proportion ~60% after interest payments
  • COVID-19 SRD grant redesigned with R36.4 billion extension to 31 March 2027
  • grant amount R370 per beneficiary per month
  • targeting improvements: biometric and income verification
  • focus: progressive realisation of constitutional socio-economic rights
  • claim: no evidence of austerity; funding for infrastructure and capital investments

Dates

Opening Date

18 March 2026

Closing Date

18 March 2026